band of color


Effective date of original law: August 8, 1987

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Division of Highway Safety
Department of Public Safety
Office of the Director
301 W. High Street
HST Building, Room 870
P.O. Box 749
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Day-to-Day Administration
Neil Meyers, State Coordinator
Missouri Motorcycle Safety Program
Humphreys 201—Central Missouri State University
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-8005
Fax: 660-543-4574
Web site:

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Court costs assessed for violation of a motorcycle/motor-tricycle law ($5 or $10 if alcohol-related) and motorcycle instructional permit ($2.75)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To fund the motorcycle safety
    education program

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • Missouri Motorcycle Safety Program works closely with
    Department of Motor Vehicles because of skill test waiver.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Missouri Motorcycle Safety Program
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Department of Revenue
  • Data available in electronic format: Data are beginning to be transferred to electronic format.
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: April through October
  • Number of instruction sites: 23
  • Types of providers: Community colleges, private contractors, vocational technical schools, safety councils, Rider’s Edge, and mobile training sites

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 228
  • Students enrolled: 2115
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: By July
  • Average waiting period to take course: 6 months
  • Students on waiting list: 400

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $105,000
  • Source of Federal funds: Section 402
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $49.65
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $150
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $85
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None


  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    BRC, IRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: Seven-member State advisory committee with members appointed by the Governor for 1-year terms.
  • Curricula approved by:
    Division of Public Safety
  • Process to modify curricula: Approval by the Division of Public Safety and change in Missouri Title 11 are needed to make curricula modifications.
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A

pie chart
graph - data not available
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification is not required for Instructors.
  • Program is to include Instructor training courses. Training and Instructor qualification standards shall meet or exceed the MSF’s. Instructor must be MSF-Certified, be a high school graduate or possess a valid GED, possess a valid driver’s license that allows the operation of a motorcycle, and be a licensed driver for at least 5 years.
  • There are no probation or internship requirements for Instructors.
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Instructors are monitored at least once each certification period by chiefs, RiderCoach trainers, and peers.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 98
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 3
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 10
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 95%
  • Instructor demographics: N/A
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality assurance visits are made to sites to ensure they are in compliance with the standards, rules, and regulations established in Missouri law 11CSR60.
  • The Missouri Motorcycle Safety Project is responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control is implemented at least once per calendar year.

Program Evaluation

  • N/A

Special features of rider education and/or licensing program

  • State offers point reductions for riders who have successfully completed a rider
    education course.

Licensing Requirements

  • $1 renewal fee and $3.75 permit fee ($2.75 applies to the motorcycle training course)
  • Successful completion of
    eye exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for 6 months
  • Unlimited renewals


  • $7.50 for 3 year endorsement and $15 for 6 year endorsement
  • Rider may be licensed at 15 upon successful completion of a rider education program. Rider must be 16 if course is not completed.
  • Rider must hold a permit for 6 months before being eligible for a motorcycle endorsement.
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed every 3 or 6 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Highway Patrol
  • Third-party testing: None
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Highway Patrol

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: Modified MSF
  • Skills test used: Local off-street


  • Rider education waiver: Skills
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 268,900
  • Registered motorcycles: 67,678
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: 1,525
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None