band of color


Effective date of original law:
July 1, 1982

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Central Office
Town Square
444 Cedar Street
Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone: 651-282-6565

Day-to-Day Administration
Bill Shaffer
Minnesota Department of
Public Safety
Office of Traffic Safety
444 Cedar Street, Suite 150
Saint Paul, MN 55101-5150
Phone: 651-282-6558
Fax: 651-296-4844
Web site:

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Initial motorcycle license ($11) and motorcycle license renewal ($7) to a maximum of $750,000
  • Stipulated use of funds: To fund motorcycle safety education program. Limits on expenditures are the following: not more than 5% for administration and 65% for reimbursement of approved training providers and training and coordinating Instructors. Reimbursement for approved courses is limited to 50% of actual cost.

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The Minnesota Department of Public Safety’s Division of Driver and Vehicle Services is responsible for licensing in the State. Driver and Vehicle Services applies annually for funding through the Department’s Office of Traffic, which administers the State’s motorcycle safety program.
  • The funding is used to conduct extended evening skill testing hours, reprint the motorcycle safety operator’s manual, and update license examiners on motorcycle testing related items.
  • Driver and Vehicle Services is also responsible for licensing Instructors and commercial driving schools. The rider training project has a strong working relationship with Driver and Vehicle Services personnel.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data: Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Driver and Vehicle Services
  • Data available in electronic format: Some data is available, but data privacy restricts access on individuals.
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: April through October
  • Number of instruction sites: 25
  • Types of providers: State colleges, universities and private driving schools

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 496
  • Students enrolled: 5370
  • No-shows or registration refunds: 210 no-shows and 589 cancellations
  • Time until course reaches capacity: Varies by site
  • Average waiting period to take course: 2 months
  • Students on waiting list: N/A

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $750,000
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $139.67
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $115
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $50
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None


  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    BRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: State advisory committee with members appointed by the Commissioner for 4-year terms.
  • Curricula approved by: Office of Traffic Safety and Driver and Vehicle Services
  • Process to modify curricula: N/A
  • Data collected for modifications: None
  • Validation process for modifications: None

pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors.
  • Program includes Instructor training and coordination.
  • A one to two course internship and 1-year probationary period are required.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Instructors are monitored at least every 3 years by Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers, program staff, peers, and State license examiners.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 115
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 2
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 27
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 67%
  • Instructor demographics: 76% male, 24% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures include peer and chief evaluations, as well as audits of
    third-party testers.
  • Driver and Vehicle Services and the Office of Traffic Safety are responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control is implemented throughout the season.

Program Evaluation

  • Program evaluation was in the form of student surveys.
  • Suggestions receive follow-up.

Licensing Requirements

  • $21 permit fee*
  • Successful completion of
    eye exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for 1 year


  • $21 endorsement fee*
  • Rider may be licensed at 16 upon successful completion of a rider education course. Rider must be 18 if course is not completed.
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed every 4 years.

*Permit fee included in license fee.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Public Safety
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Department of Public Safety

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: Local
  • Skills test used: Alternate MOST


  • Rider education waiver: Skills
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 317,421
  • Registered motorcycles: 142,882
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: 8,931
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 2,817
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Modified Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: $250,000–300,000