band of color


Effective date of original law: January 1, 1982

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Illinois Department of Transportation
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62764
Phone: 217-782-7820

Day-to-Day Administration
Joe Lindsay and John Brandon,
Motorcycle Rider Safety Coordinators
Illinois Department of Transportation
Division of Traffic Safety, 3rd Floor
3215 Executive Park Drive
P.O. Box 19212
Springfield, IL 62703
Phone: 217-785-1181
Fax: 217-782-9159
Web site:

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: 27 percent of the motorcycle registration fee ($8.10 annually) and motorcycle/motor-driven cycle endorsement/renewal ($5 every 4 years—$1.25 annually)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To administer Cycle Rider Safety Training Act, to fund contract with approved Regional Training Centers for conducting courses, or to fund any other related purpose

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The Secretary of State handles the collection and transfer of
    program fees.
  • Courses are promoted at licensing facilities.
  • Flyers are distributed with annual registration renewal.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Illinois Department of Transportation
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Secretary of State
  • Data available in electronic format: Yes
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: March through November
  • Number of instruction sites: 43
  • Types of providers: Community and State colleges, commercial schools, Rider’s Edge, and mobile training sites

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 847
  • Students enrolled: 9,761
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: Varies—1–2 weeks in north, midsummer in south
  • Average waiting period to take course: Varies—1–5 months in the north and 1–2 months in the south
  • Students on waiting list: None; 3645 MRC:RSS and ERC “turn-aways” in 2001

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $2,080,162
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $213.11
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $0
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $0
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: $20 refundable registration fee


  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS and ERC
  • Advisory committee: None
  • Curricula approved by:
    Department of Transportation
  • Process to modify curricula:
    The Department of Transportation makes curricula modifications. Project coordinators can modify curricula on an experimental basis for their courses.
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: Proposed modifications are submitted in writing at least 2 weeks before they are to be implemented.

pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is not required for Instructors
  • Instructor training qualifications are established by the Department of Transportation and the Regional Training Center
  • There is no probation or internship requirement for Instructors.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. They are monitored annually by Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers and State coordinators.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 381
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 10
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 60
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 83%
  • Instructor demographics: 80% male, 20% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Nine Chief Instructors and three State administrators are used to monitor courses.
  • Regional Centers, but ultimately the Illinois Department of Transportation, are responsible for
    quality control.
  • Quality control is implemented at least once annually.

Program Evaluation

  • Program does not conduct regular evaluations.

Special features of rider education and/or licensing program

  • State provides rider education at no cost to the student.

Licensing Requirements

  • $10 issuance fee
  • Successful completion of
    eye exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid 1 year
  • Unlimited renewals


  • $10 endorsement fee
  • Rider may be licensed at 16 upon successful completion of a rider education course. Rider must be 18 if course not completed.
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed every 4 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Secretary of State
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Secretary of State

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: Local
  • Primary skills test used: Alternate MOST
  • Secondary skills test used: Local on-street


  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in another State: None
  • Reciprocal license waiver: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 573,103
  • Registered motorcycles: 203,935
  • New motorcycle licenses issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 4,318
  • Operators licensed without rider education: 9,639
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: Yes

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Modified Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None