band of color


Effective date of original law:
June 16, 1980

Ultimate Program Responsibility
State Department of Transportation
Motor Vehicle Safety Office
601 Kamokila Boulevard, Room 511
Kapolei, HI  96707
Phone: 808-692-7655
Fax: 808-692-7665

Day-to-Day Administration
Morgan D.E. Keene,
State Coordinator
University of Hawaii System
Motorcycle Safety Education Program Leeward Community College
96-045 Ala Ike
Pearl City, HI 96782-3393
Phone: 808-455-0308
Fax: 808-455-0490

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Insurer assessment ($2 per year) on each motorcycle insured or self-insured
  • Stipulated use of funds: To administer a driver’s education program for motorcycle or motor scooter operators

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • Currently, all Certified Instructors work at the University of Hawaii Leeward Community College.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data: Rider training delivery agencies collect the data and forward it upon request to Department of Transportation.
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data: The City and County of Honolulu Department of Information Technology collects licensing data and provides it to the Department of Transportation upon request.
  • Data available in electronic format: Driver licensing data are available electronically. Rider training data can be made available electronically upon request.
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: January through December
  • Number of instruction sites: 5
  • Types of providers: The University of Hawaii system is the only provider.

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 160
  • Students enrolled: 2,399
  • No-shows or registration refunds: 151 no shows, 49 refunds
  • Time until course reaches capacity: N/A
  • Average waiting period to take course: 2–3 weeks
  • Students on waiting list: 0

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $355,300
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $148.10
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $150
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $100
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None


  • Approved curriculum: MRC:RSS
    and ERC
  • Advisory committee: N/A
  • Curriculum approved by:
    State Department of Transportation
  • Process to modify curriculum: All curricula are reviewed by the Department of Transportation every 5 years to ensure that they are relevant.
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A

pie chart
graph - data not available
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors.
  • There is no probation or internship requirement for Instructors.
  • Updates are required for Instructors every 2 years. The candidate must successfully complete an Instructor update or refresher course relating to rider education at least once every 2 years that meets or exceeds nationally recognized standards and must teach a minimum of three rider education courses each year.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 16
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 3
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 6
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 50%
  • Instructor demographics: N/A
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: No

Quality Control Procedures

  • Department of Transportation monitors course presentations at least twice per year. Delivery agency monitors every week.
  • The University of Hawaii monitors and coaches its Instructors regularly and is responsible for
    quality control.
  • Department of Transportation monitors individuals and agencies at least twice each year.
    The University of Hawaii monitors its Instructors weekly.

Program Evaluation

  • Program conducts regular evaluations.
  • Chief Instructors monitor course delivery, student satisfaction surveys, completion data, and
    evaluator accuracy.
  • The evaluation information is used to fine tune the program.

Licensing Requirements

  • $5 fee
  • Successful completion of
    eye exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for 1 year


  • $9–$18 fee
  • Rider must be 16 under the partial graduated licensing statutes with successful completion of a rider education program.
  • Motorcycle endorsement renewed every 4 years for ages 15–17; 6 years for 18–71; and 2 years for 72 and older.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Differs by county—it is the police department on the County of Hawaii and the Department of Finance on Maui, Kauai, and Honolulu.
  • Third-party testing: Yes (for skills only)
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    County licensing agencies train their own personnel.

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: MSF
  • Skills test used: Alternate MOST


  • Rider education waiver: Skills
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
  • Reciprocal license waiver: None

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 31,397
  • Registered motorcycles: 17,661
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 1,927
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: 5,024

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: Yes
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Modified Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None