Driver licensing agency
contact information
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Driver and Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
651 296-6911
Licensing Requirements
Visual acuity

Visual fields
Color vision requirement
Restricted licenses
Each eye with/without correction
Both eyes with/without correction
If one eye blind—other with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum

Are bioptic telescopes allowed?
Minimum field requirement
Restrictions include: daytime driving only, area restrictions, speed restrictions, and no freeway driving.
20/70 in better eye with speed limitations; 20/80 referred to a driver evaluation unit; 20/100 denied license.
Licensing Renewal Procedures

Age-based renewal procedures
Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions
Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?

Road test required?

4 years
Only if license has been expired for more than 1 year
Only if license has been expired for more than 5 years
Reporting Procedures
Physician/medical reporting

Legal protection
DMV follow-up

Other reporting
Physician reporting is encouraged. Physicians may contact the Medical Unit in writing; no specific form is required.
Not addressed in driver licensing laws.
Driver is notified in writing of referral. License is suspended upon referral and further examination is conducted.
Will accept information from courts, other DMVs, police, family members, or other sources.
Reporting cannot be done anonymously. However, the identity of the reporter will be held confidential unless the court subpoenas records.
Medical Advisory Board
Role of the MAB

MAB contact information
The MAB advises the Department of Public Safety on medical issues regarding individual drivers. Actions are based on the recommendation of the majority.
The MAB can be contacted through the Medical Unit at:
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Medical Unit
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 170
St. Paul, MN 55101-5170
651 296-2021

Table of Contents