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Traffic Safety Facts
Laws

Blood Alcohol Concentration Test  
Refusal Laws
Background
NHTSA encourages States to 
provide for enhanced sanctions 
for drivers who refuse to submit 
to a blood alcohol concentration 
(BAC) test after probable cause 
for impaired driving is established.  
Enhanced sanctions for refusal 
should be stricter than those 
imposed on offenders who submit 
to and fail the test to discourage 
offenders from refusing.

The BAC from a driving-while-im-
paired (DWI) offender is one of the 
most valuable pieces of evidence 
in an impaired driving case.  DWI 
offenders who refuse to submit to 
tests are able to deny the pros-
ecution this important piece of 
evidence.  Enhanced sanctions for 
refusal remove a motivation for of-
fenders to refuse.

Key Facts
■	 There are nearly 1.4 million DWI 

arrests in the United States 	
each year.   

■	 Inpatient rehabilitation costs for 
motor vehicle injuries average 
$11,265 per patient and $13,200 
per patient for motorcycle 
injuries.

■	 All States have some form of 
implied consent statute.  These 
laws are based on the principle 
that when people drive, they 
have implicitly consented to sub-
mit to a lawfully-requested test to 
determine the alcohol content of 
their blood, breath, urine, or other 
bodily substance if suspected of 
impaired driving.   

■	 State laws vary widely with re-
gard to administrative and crimi-
nal penalties for refusing to sub-
mit to a chemical test.  All States 
but one (Nevada) have adminis-
trative sanctions for refusal. 

■	 As of September 2006, 15 States 
(Alaska, California, Florida, Kan-
sas, Maryland, Minnesota, Mis-
sissippi, New Hampshire, New 
Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklaho-
ma, Oregon, Rhode Island, and 
Vermont) have criminal sanctions 
for refusal to submit to a BAC 
test for those 21 and older. Four 
States (Idaho, Iowa, North Dako-
ta, and Virginia) have civil penal-
ties only, and 3 States (Arkansas, 
Arizona, and Michigan) have pen-
alties only for people under 21.  
In addition, as of January 2006, 
41 States and the District of Co-
lumbia have adopted some form 

of administrative license revoca-
tion for BAC test refusals.

■	 Refusal is a separate crime in 16 
States (Alaska, Arizona, Arkan-
sas, California, Idaho, Iowa, Kan-
sas, Michigan, New Hampshire, 
New Jersey, New York, North 
Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, 
Vermont, and Virginia). 

■	 A variety of organizations, includ-
ing Mothers Against Drunk Driv-
ing, the National Transportation 
Safety Board and the Century 
Council (which is supported by 
the Nation's leading distillers) 
actively support enhanced penal-
ties for offenders who refuse to 
submit to BAC testing.

■	 A refusal is admissible in criminal 
cases in all 50 States and the 
District of Columbia although 5 
states (Hawaii, Massachusetts, 
Michigan, Rhode Island, and 
Virginia allow admissibility under 
very limited circumstances. A 
refusal is admissible in civil cases 
in 16 States (Alabama, Alaska, 
Arizona, California, Delaware, 
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, 
Missouri, New Mexico, New York, 
North Dakota, Oregon, Utah, 
and Wyoming) and the District of 
Columbia.

The percentage of offenders who 
refuse a breath test has been a 
problem in many States.  With 
new, stronger laws and sanctions 



Reports and additional 
information are available 
from your State Highway 
Safety Office, the NHTSA 
Regional Office serving your 
State, NHTSA Headquarters, 
Impaired Driving and 
Occupant Protection Office, 
ATTN: NTI-111, 400 Seventh  
Street SW., Washington,  
DC 20590; 202-366-2683;  
or NHTSA’s Web site at 
www.nhtsa.gov

(sometimes triggered by high 
BAC levels) being enacted across 
the country, NHTSA is currently 
studying breath test refusal rates.

In 2005, NHTSA released an interim 
report of a breath test refusal 
study.  The study included a review 
of administrative and criminal 
sanctions for breath test refusal in 
each State, using the Digest of State 
Alcohol-Highway Safety Related 
Legislation (National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration, 2002) and the 
Implied Consent Laws (American 
Prosecutor Research Institute, 
2002).  The key law provisions are 
summarized in the document.                                                                               

Incentive Grant Program
In 2005, Congress enacted the 
Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient 
Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy 
for Users (SAFETEA-LU).  Section 
2007 of SAFETEA-LU continues 
the alcohol-impaired driving 
countermeasures incentive grant 
program (under Section 410 of 
chapter 4 of Title 23) that encourage 
States to adopt and implement 
effective programs, including 
Administrative License Revocation 
(ALR) laws, to reduce traffic safety 
problems resulting from individuals 
driving while impaired by alcohol.  A 
qualifying State may use these grant 
funds to implement impaired driving 
activities in accordance with the 
Federal statute.  

To meet the ALR criterion of 
the Section 410 grant program, 
SAFETEA-LU provides that a State’s 
ALR system must impose certain 

sanctions on all individuals who fail 
or refuse to submit to a chemical 
test, including that:

s	first offenders must be subject 
to at least a 90-day license 
suspension, provided that 
after 15 days a provisional 
license may be issued so 
the offender can drive to and 
from employment, school, an 
alcohol treatment program, or 
an interlock service facility and 
only in a vehicle equipped with 
an ignition interlock;

s	repeat offenders must be 
subject to at least a one-year 
suspension or revocation, 
provided that after 45 days 
a provisional license may be 
issued so the offender can 
drive to and from employment, 
school, an alcohol treatment 
program, or an interlock 
service facility and only in 
a vehicle equipped with an 
ignition; and

s	suspensions or revocations 
must take effect within 30 
days after offenders refuse to 
submit to a chemical test or 
receive notice of having failed 
a breath test.

The statutory provisions of the 
Section 410 program have been 
implemented by a NHTSA regulation 
in 23 CFR Part 1313.
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