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Repeat Intoxicated Driver Laws

Background
The National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration supports the 
enactment of repeat intoxicated 
driver laws. In 1998, as part of the 
Transportation Equity Act for the 
21st Century (TEA‑21) Restoration 
Act, a Federal program was 
established to encourage States 
to adopt laws that provide for 
enhanced sanctions for repeat 
offenders of impaired driving laws 
(23 USC 154). Repeat offenders 
make up a large portion of the 
impaired driving problem. One-third 
of all driving while intoxicated (DWI) 
or driving under the influence (DUI) 
arrests each year involve people 
who have been convicted previously 
of DWI/DUI. 

Key Facts
■	 Motor vehicle crashes are the 

leading cause of death for 
Americans age 3 through 33.

■	 In 2005, there were 16,885 
alcohol-related fatalities in motor 
vehicle crashes.

■	 Alcohol was involved in 39 
percent of fatal crashes in 2005.

■	 About every 31 minutes, 
someone is killed in the United 
States in an alcohol‑related 
crash. 

■	 Alcohol-related crashes in the 
United States cost the public 
more than $50 billion in 2000, 
and 75 percent of these costs 
occurred in crashes where a 
driver or nonoccupant had a 
blood alcohol concentration 
(BAC) of .10 grams per deciliter or 
higher.

■	 Inpatient rehabilitation costs for 
motor vehicle injuries average 
$11,265 per patient and $13,200 
per patient for motorcycle 
injuries. 

■	 Impaired driving is the most 
frequently committed violent 
crime in the United States.

■	 Drivers with prior DWI convictions 
are over-represented in fatal 
crashes and have a greater 
relative risk of involvement in a 
fatal crash.

How Effective Are Repeat 
Intoxicated Driver Laws?
Research has shown that driver-
licensing sanctions have a 
significant impact on impaired 
driving in general. Licensing 
sanctions imposed under 
State administrative license 
revocation systems have resulted 
in reductions in alcohol‑related 
fatalities of between 6 and 9 
percent. According to a NHTSA 
study, Illinois, New Mexico, Maine, 
North Carolina, Colorado, and 
Utah experienced significant 
reductions in alcohol‑related fatal 
crashes following enactment of 
administrative license revocation 
procedures. The studies support 
the notion that licensing sanctions 
deter repeat DWI offenders from 
driving impaired. Although many 
repeat intoxicated drivers continue 
to drive without a license after 
their licenses have been revoked, 
there is some indication that those 
who do drive, tend to drive less 
frequently and more carefully. For 
further information about licensing 
sanctions, see NHTSA Traffic 
Safety Facts‑Administrative License 
Revocation.

Additional sanctions, including 
a variety of vehicle sanction 
programs, have been applied 
successfully to deter repeat DWI 
offenses. California’s vehicle 



impoundment program resulted 
in substantially fewer subsequent 
offenses, convictions, and crashes 
for repeat offenders involved with 
the program (which included 
non‑DWI offenses) compared with 
another control group of repeat 
offenders. 	
	
A study of interlock devices in 
Maryland found that participation 
in an interlock program decreased 
the risk of DWI recidivism by 65 
percent. These programs are 
successful because they prevent 
many repeat DWI offenders from 
driving by either separating them 
from their vehicles or requiring them 
to be alcohol-free when they do 
drive. For more information about 
vehicle sanctions, see NHTSA’s 
Traffic Safety Facts ‑ Vehicle and 
License Plate Sanctions.

Programs that focus on an 
individual’s alcohol‑related behavior 
also have been successful. 
Milwaukee’s Intensive Supervision 
Probation program, which includes 
monitoring of behavior, cut 
recidivism by nearly 50 percent 
(from 11 percent to 6 percent). A 
study of a financially self-sufficient 
DWI facility in Prince George’s 
County, Maryland, where residents 
pay for their stay, showed that its 
recidivism rate during a 5-year 
period was 8 percent, compared 
with 35 percent for other programs.

A DWI court is a distinct court 
system dedicated to changing 
the behavior of the alcohol/drug 
dependent offender arrested for 
impaired driving. The goal of the 
DWI court is to protect public 
safety by using the drug court 
model to address the root cause of 
impaired driving: alcohol and other 
substance abuse. With the repeat 

offender as their target population, 
these courts follow the Ten Key 
Components of Drug Courts and 
the Ten Guiding Principles of DWI 
Courts, as established by the 
National Association of Drug Court 
Professionals. Variants of DWI 
courts include drug courts that also 
accept DWI offenders, commonly 
referred to as “hybrid” DWI courts or 
DWI/drug courts.

The DWI court utilizes all criminal 
justice stakeholders (prosecutors, 
defense attorneys, judges, 
probation, law enforcement and 
others), along with alcohol or drug 
treatment professionals. This 
group comprises a DWI Court 
team, which uses a cooperative 
approach to systematically change 
participant behavior. Compliance 
with treatment and other court-
mandated requirements is 
verified by frequent alcohol and 
drug testing, close community 
supervision and interaction with 
the judge in non-adversarial court 
review hearings. A DWI Court is 
being evaluated in Maricopa County 
(Phoenix), Arizona. Completion of 
this study, jointly funded with the 
Department of Justice, is expected 
in 2007.

Section 164
Section 164 of 23 U.S.C. requires 
that States have certain repeat 
intoxicated driver laws in place. 
States without a conforming 
law are subject to a transfer of 
Federal aid highway construction 
funds. Transferred funds may be 
used for alcohol‑impaired driving 
countermeasures, enforcement of 
impaired driving laws, or the State’s 
hazard elimination program, under 
Section 152. 

To comply with the Federal program 
under Section 164, the State’s laws 
regarding second and subsequent 
convictions for driving while 
intoxicated or driving under the 
influence of alcohol (DWI) must:

■	 Require a minimum one‑year 
driver's license suspension for 
repeat intoxicated drivers;

■	 Require that all motor vehicles 
of repeat intoxicated drivers 
be impounded or immobilized 
for a specified period during 
the license suspension period, 
or require the installation of an 
ignition interlock system on all 
motor vehicles of such drivers 
for a specified period after the 
suspension is completed;

■	 Require the mandatory 
assessment of the repeat 
intoxicated driver’s degree of 
alcohol abuse and referral to 
treatment as appropriate; and

■	 Establish a mandatory minimum 
sentence for repeat intoxicated 
drivers:

s	 Of not less than 5 days of	
imprisonment or 30 days of 
community service for a sec‑
ond offense; and

s	 Of not less than 10 days 	
of imprisonment or 60 days of 
community service for a third 	
or subsequent offense.

Under the program, a repeat 
intoxicated driver is defined as a 
person convicted of driving while 
intoxicated or driving under the 
influence of alcohol more than once 
during any 5‑year period. Thus, 
States must maintain records on 
DWI convictions for at least 5 years. 
To avoid the transfer of funds, 
States must certify that their laws 
comply with each of the criteria 
specified above.



The transferred amount for States 
not in compliance is 1.5 percent 
of certain Federal‑aid highway 
construction funds for fiscal years 
2001 and 2002 and 3 percent for 
fiscal year 2003 and later.

Which States Have Complied 
With the Federal Repeat 
Intoxicated Offender 
Requirements?
To date, 39 States and the District 
of Columbia are in compliance 
with the requirements of Section 
164: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, 
Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, 
Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, 
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, 
Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, 
Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, 
Nebraska, Nevada, New 

Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, 
North Carolina, North Dakota, 
Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South 
Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, 
Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, 
and Wisconsin.
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Reports and additional 
information are available 
from your State Highway 
Safety Office, the NHTSA 
Regional Office serving your 
State, NHTSA Headquarters, 
Impaired Driving and 
Occupant Protection Office, 
ATTN: NTI-111, 400 Seventh  
Street SW., Washington,  
DC 20590; 202-366-2683;  
or NHTSA’s Web site at 
www.nhtsa.gov


