Skip to Main Navigation










$163.68 M

$217 M

$220 M

$225 M

$235 M


Program Purpose

Sections 2001 and 2002 of SAFETEA-LU reauthorize the State and Community Highway Safety formula grant program (Section 402 of chapter 4 of Title 23) to support State highway safety programs, designed to reduce traffic crashes and resulting deaths, injuries, and property damage.  A state may use these grant funds only for highway safety purposes; at least 40 percent of these funds are to be expended by political subdivisions of the State. 


A State is eligible for these formula grants by submitting a Performance Plan, which establishes goals and performance measures to improve highway safety in the State, and a Highway Safety Plan, which describes activities to achieve those goals.  SAFETEA-LU amends Section 402 to require assurances from States that they will implement activities in support of national highway safety goals, including national law enforcement mobilizations; sustained enforcement of statutes addressing impaired driving, occupant protection, and speed; annual safety belt use surveys; and development of timely and effective statewide data systems.

Those jurisdictions defined as “States” in chapter 4 of Title 23 are eligible to receive Section 402 funds; this includes the 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Bureau of Indian Affairs.


Authorizes $897 million for fiscal years 2006-2009. 

The Section 402 formula is:

  • 75 percent based on the ratio of the State’s population in the latest Federal census to the total population in all States.
  • 25 percent based on the ratio of the public road miles in the State to the total public road miles in all States.

The apportionment to each State is no less than one-half of one percent of the total 402 apportionment.  Beginning in FY 2006, the apportionment to the Bureau of Indian Affairs is increased from three-quarters of one percent to 2 percent.  The apportionment to the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands is no less than one-quarter of one percent.

Program Administration

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration will administer this program.

U.S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
1-800-424-9153 (TTY)